Lucianne blocked as an attack site by Google
Sometime today Lucianne.com, a conservative news site, was blocked by Google as an “attack site”. Viewing the why was this site blocked link initially showed there were no problems but in the last few minutes they added information on a trojan linking to a 9966 domain. So… Google censorship? Or a typical concerted effort by liberal hackers to silence an effective conservative website in the name of their messiah?
Update the domain used in attacking Lucianne is owned by a Chinese corporation.
Update 2 Many people are still experiencing this problem. To turn off the browser feature that enables this blocking in Firefox go to Edit -> Preferences, Security tab and un-check “Tell me if the site I’m visiting is a suspected attack site”. That is, unless your browsing habits are such that you see this warning on sites regularly. As for the rest of us who have seen the warning only once or twice in the last several months, and you have good anti-virus, you’re probably OK to just turn it off until Google gets a grip on abuse of the system for political purposes.
October 16th, 2008 at 6:17 pm
And there’s no way block Chinese IP addresses? They have been more trouble than they’re worth.
October 16th, 2008 at 6:19 pm
Wouldn’t surprise me that chinese money backs Obama. I mean, who benefits when America weakens?
October 16th, 2008 at 6:26 pm
This is what I was shown ( you probably know this already):
Safe Browsing
Diagnostic page for http://www.lucianne.com
What is the current listing status for http://www.lucianne.com?
Site is listed as suspicious – visiting this web site may harm your computer.
Part of this site was listed for suspicious activity 1 time(s) over the past 90 days.
What happened when Google visited this site?
Of the 11 pages we tested on the site over the past 90 days, 1 page(s) resulted in malicious software being downloaded and installed without user consent. The last time Google visited this site was on 2008-10-16, and the last time suspicious content was found on this site was on 2008-10-16.
Malicious software includes 1 trojan(s). Successful infection resulted in an average of 3 new processes on the target machine.
Malicious software is hosted on 2 domain(s), including w32.9966.org, k70.9966.org.
Has this site acted as an intermediary resulting in further distribution of malware?
Over the past 90 days, http://www.lucianne.com did not appear to function as an intermediary for the infection of any sites.
Has this site hosted malware?
No, this site has not hosted malicious software over the past 90 days.
How did this happen?
In some cases, third parties can add malicious code to legitimate sites, which would cause us to show the warning message.
Next steps:
* Return to the previous page.
* If you are the owner of this web site, you can request a review of your site using Google Webmaster Tools. More information about the review process is available in Google’s Webmaster Help Center.
October 16th, 2008 at 6:44 pm
Google leave me alone!…
One of my favorite daily sites for information and conservative opinion, Lucianne.com has been blocked as an “attack” site by Google in order to “save us” from potential computing harm. Sure… and I’ve got some carbon credits for sale… I vote…
October 16th, 2008 at 7:54 pm
Get ready for a lot more of this if we get the 0bamanation.
October 16th, 2008 at 7:56 pm
We’re with you Lucianne!
October 16th, 2008 at 8:04 pm
Quid Pro Quo…Google effectively censors sites for China, so China helps censer sites for the liberal friends such as Google.
October 16th, 2008 at 8:11 pm
I have had similar difficulties with Newsbusters site. We have geeks too, maybe we should turn them loose on the Liberal websites! We don’t like cheating, however (I) do like getting even.